C+CS Primary research project Sainsbury centre for the visual arts, Norwich

  1. In this day, we visited the Sainsbury centre and Fiji. The Sainsbury centre has designed between 1974 and 1976, the Sainsbury centre was the first major public building designed by now renowned architect Norman Foster. The Sainsbury Centre was first conceived after Sir Robert and Lady Sainsbury generously gave their art collection to the University of East Anglia in 1973. When I saw this building, I was expected because the museum was so big. But after I looked around inside of that, my expectation changed to disappointment. Because they have a little exhibit less than I expected.

I choose 6 objects kinds of oriental statue. Because I’m interested in oriental garment.

20161115_112456.jpg

  • Title: Female shinto deity
  • Maker: unknown
  • Material: Polychrome wood
  • Date of the work: Kamakura period AD 1185-1333
  • It gave me an idea about silhouette, the silhouette of this piece is similar with asian costume. In these days, I’m planning to design kind of asian theme costume, so it will be good research.

20161115_112434.jpg

  • Title: Votive figure
  • Maker: unknown
  • Material: Marble, shell or bone
  • Date of the work: 2700 BC
  • The skirt of this figure is quite interesting. It’s look like Greek skirt or Scottish kilt.

20161115_112302.jpg

  • Title: Figure of a man
  • Maker: unknown
  • Material:pottery, pigment
  • Date of the work: 11th-2nd century BC
  • The shape of this figure is so interesting. I like this curvy shape. Even it’s look like American soccer player.

20161115_112222.jpg

  • Title: Seated Amida, the Buddha of the Western Paradise
  • Maker: unknown
  • Material: Gilt bronze
  • Date of the work: AD 1185-1333
  • I especially like this statue. Because It has clear detail that is able to be a good research for my project.
  • I’m always interested in Asian culture, this buddha figure inspired me strongly. I will consider this source for my portfolio.

20161115_112209.jpg

  • Title: Standing Yakushi Nyorai, the Buddha of healing.
  • Maker: Yakushi-rurikō
  • Material: Bronze with traces of gilding
  • Date of the work: AD 710-794 ,8th century
  • This buddha figure also inspired me. But it is quite different from previous buddha. It is more simple and thin also it is standing. They are slightly different. Both of them will be good research for my portfolio.

20161115_112153.jpg

  • Title: Seated figure of a Bodhisattva
  • Maker: unknown
  • Material: wood, traces of lacquer and gilding
  • Date of the work: AD 1368, 13th-14th century

Actually, the exhibits didn’t attract me. Because almost of them didn’t illustrate about fashion.They were more like historical and cultural thing. I’m going to study fashion so I focused on garments and shapes of them.  I love these kinds of silhouette such as shape of sliding down.  I’m usually strongly influenced by something really old. They will be good research for my project later.

 

stock-vector-decorative-ancient-hand-drawn-ethnic-seamless-pattern-294043058.jpg

 

I love this this Fijian pattern. Even I always want to get this kind of tattoo. This pattern is quite complicate but they are regularity. Perhaps It could be a main theme of my work someday.

 

Leave a Reply

